Confucius Institute

To actively promote Chinese as a second language and enhance educational and cultural exchanges and cooperation between China and other countries, Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU), in collaboration with prestigious universities abroad, established Confucius Institutes at University of New South Wales and Heidelberg University over the years since 2007. Based on local conditions and distinctive characteristics, Confucius Institutes have made contributions to global Chinese education and cultural dissemination, while effectively enhancing cooperation among universities, and cultural exchanges between China and other countries, whereby we can expect strengthened friendship and mutual understanding among people from different countries.

SJTU has put the Confucius Institute high on the agenda  as a significant part in building SJTU into a world-class university.In 2012, we set up the Confucius Institute Office at SJTU, dedicated to including selecting and dispatching Chinese Dean as well as Chinese teachers and volunteer teachers, supervising  funding application and management, arranging scholarships for SJTU Chinese language teachers serving abroad, receving delegations , and holding and supporting the convening of Board meetings. In 2014, the Confucius Institute Office was incorporated into the International Affairs Division of SJTU, making it fully and more closely aligned with SJTU’s international strategies, playing a better role in coordination, planning, and decision-making on a new platform.

Confucius Institutes
The Confucius Institute at the University of New South Wales

The Confucius Institute at the University of New South Wales (UNSW) officially started its operations in July 2009. Since the very beginning, it has focused on Chinese language teaching and cultural promotion by establishing a “Four-in-One” instructional service system covering universities, communities, political and business circles, as well as primary and secondary schools. The Confucius Institute at UNSW has made breakthroughs in helping Chinese and Australian youth with innovation and business ventures, by establishing campuses that demonstrate best practices for promoting  innovation and enterpreneuship. Thanks to unrelenting efforts over the past years, it has stood out from the Confucius Institutes based across the globe. It has won several titles of honor, such as the “2014 Excellent Confucius Institute”, the “2015 Excellent Confucius Course”, and the “2019 Excellent Confucius Institute”. And its Chinese Dean, Ms. Xi Junfang, was awarded the “Excellent Individual” of global Confucius Institutes in 2016.

More

The Confucius Institute at Heidelberg University

The Confucius Institute at Heidelberg University started its operations in September 2009 as a non-profit registrated institution. Over these twelve years, it has initiated a number of special programs, such as the New Sinology Plan, introduction of the Chinese language to German primary and secondary schools, Chinese language-themed social activities, and the high-level China-Germany Culture Dialogue. The Insitute also took the initiative in developing MOOCs on the Chinese language for learners in German-speaking regions and exploring ways to establish a new pattern combining online and in-person instructions. As the sole test center in German-speaking regions authorized to confer Certificate for Teachers of Chinese to Speakers of Other Languages, it has been playing a significant role in Chinese language teaching, Sino-German cultural exchanges, civil service for local communities, and cooperation between SJTU and Heidelberg University. With its prominent achievements, it was granted the title of the Confucius Institute of Global Excellence in 2014.
More

Contact Us

International Affairs Division, Confucius Institute Office

👤 XIE Ting

☎️ 34205103

📩 cisjtu@sjtu.edu.cn

Quick Links

孔子学院

为了积极推进国际中文教育事业的发展,加强中国与其它国家在教育、文化领域的交流合作,上海交通大学自2007年起与国外著名大学合作建立了新南威尔士大学孔子学院和海德堡大学孔子学院。各孔院因地制宜,凝练自身特色,不仅在中文教育、文化推广方面做出了贡献,同时也为促进校际交流合作、推动双向文化交流、增进各国人民相互理解和友谊做出了积极的贡献。 

上海交通大学高度重视孔子学院工作,将孔院工作视为我校国际化战略、圆梦世界一流大学的重要环节。2012年,学校专门设立了“孔子学院办公室“,设专职人员负责孔院日常事务:主要负责选拔、外派孔子学院中方院长、中文教师和汉语教师志愿者;负责孔院相关经费的申报与管理;负责我校国际中文教师奖学金工作;负责安排孔子学院来华团组工作;协调定期召开孔子学院理事会会议等。2014年,孔子学院办公室划归学校国际合作与交流处,孔子学院的日常工作与学校国际化工作实现更加全面和紧密的对接,在新的平台上更好地发挥协调、规划和决策的作用。
孔子学院

(新南威尔士大学孔子学院举办2019年“汉语之光”活动)

新南威尔士大学孔子学院

新南威尔士大学孔子学院自2009年7月正式运营以来,始终把汉语教学和文化推广活动作为工作重点,形成了一个集大学、社区、政企界、中小学四位一体的教学服务体系。新大孔院大胆创新,支持中澳两国青年创新创业发展,探索成立创新创业示范孔子学院。通过多年不懈的努力,新大孔院已经成为了全球孔子学院中的佼佼者。曾经荣获“2014年先进孔子学院”、“2015年先进孔子课堂”和“2019年先进孔子学院”荣誉称号,中方院长奚俊芳荣获2016年全球孔子学院“先进个人”奖。

了解更多

 

海德堡大学孔子学院

海德堡大学孔院于2009年9月开始运营,是一家非盈利性注册机构。海大孔院成立十二年以来,开创了“新汉学计划”、中文走进德国中小学、汉学走向社会、高端“中德文化对话”等特色项目,率先建成面向德语区学习者的汉语慕课,积极探索线上线下混合式教学新模式,是德语区唯一的“国际汉语教师证书考试”考点,在中文教学、中德文化交流、服务城市、促进两校合作方面发挥了重要作用,取得了显著的成绩,于2014年被评为全球先进孔子学院。

了解更多